Home > Navigating the Ottawa River

Navigating the Ottawa River


There is nothing like being well prepared. Be sure to fully enjoy your cruise on the Ottawa by checking the following important information.

Weather and Water Conditions

While you may think you are about to embark on a cruise on sheltered inland waters, you should pay strict attention to local weather forecasts. The wind and wave conditions can change quite abruptly on both the Ottawa River and Lake Temiskaming. Due to the geography of the shoreline on the river and the lower half of the lake, winds have a tendency to spill over into the valley and accelerate either up or downstream, creating a wind tunnel effect. Winds from the north-northeast to southwest will blow upstream. From the southwest through the north, winds will blow downstream. Water conditions at these times change within minutes from calm to severe, with wave heights sometimes reaching two metres. Ask your hosts at each by-pass site to advise you of any special circumstances on the waterway.

Environment Canada weather reports may be obtained on your VHF’s weather frequency and are also provided on the local market radio stations along the waterway.

Unlike most waterways and cruising grounds, the Ottawa River water levels change continually. The lake and river system drain a huge area and during the spring or following heavy periods of rainfall, the water levels can become quite high, dislodging deadheads and debris from the shoreline. In addition to seasonal and weather related changes to the water levels, you could also experience changes within hours due to hydroelectric dams on the waterway. As the demand for hydro electricity increases, water levels drop above the dams, and rise below the dams. Caution is advised when navigating through shallow waters or around obstacles. When beaching your vessel for the day or overnight, you should be aware that the drop in water levels could leave you high and dry for several hours.

At various spots along the Waterway, where the river narrows, you may encounter fast flowing waters, strong current and turbulence. These areas of fast waters are located mostly on the lower half of the river, and can seem intimidating to a first time cruiser on the Ottawa River Waterway, but they can all be safely navigated by application of power to maintain steerage.

Obtain water level information on the Ottawa River Regulation Planning Board’s site or by calling 1-800-778-1246.

Go Back

Communications

Be aware that both your VHF and cellular telephone may have limited service on the water. The Ottawa River Waterway is not covered by Canadian Coast Guard marine radio service; however, marinas and other boaters monitor channel 16 and 68.

Go Back

Emergency Services

Most sections of the Ottawa River are covered by 911.

Go Back

Nautical Charts

It is highly suggested and recommended that navigational charts be used on any excursion on the Ottawa River Waterway. The following chart numbers are covered for the various sections on the Waterway:

Nautical Chart

Section of Water

1510

Lac des Deux-Montagnes

1514

Carillon to Papineauville

1515

Papineauville to Ottawa

1550

Britannia Bay to Chats Falls

1551

Chat’s Fall to Chenaux (Portage-du-Fort)

1552

Portage-du-Fort to Fraser Island (to Pembroke)

1553

Fraser Island (Pembroke) to Rapides-des-Joachims

1554

Rapides-des-Joachims to Lake La Cave (Mattawa)

1555

Lac La Cave (Mattawa) to Temiscaming

1556

Lake Temiskaming

 

Go Back

Accueil > Naviguer sur la rivière des Outaouais

Naviguer sur la rivière des Outaouais


On ne s’ennuie jamais quand on navigue sur la rivière des Outaouais. Pas seulement à cause des magnifiques paysages, mais aussi à cause des conditions changeantes de l’eau. Rien ne peut remplacer une bonne préparation. Assurez-vous de jouir pleinement de votre séjour en consultant les importants renseignements suivants :

Conditions météorologiques et des eaux

Bien que vous pensiez peut-être commencer une croisière sur des eaux intérieures tranquilles, il serait prudent de porter une attention particulière aux prévisions météorologiques. En effet, les conditions du vent et des vagues peuvent changer soudainement sur la rivière des Outaouais et sur le lac Témiscamingue. À cause de la géographie du littoral et de la partie basse du lac, les vents ont tendance à souffler dans la vallée et à accélérer, soit en aval ou en amont, créant ainsi l’effet d’un tunnel aérodynamique. Les vents provenant du nord-nord-est et du sud-ouest soufflent en amont tandis que les vents du sud-ouest soufflent en aval. À ce moment-là, l’état des eaux change rapidement de calme à agité et les vagues s’élèvent parfois à deux mètres. Le personnel à chacun des sites de contournement vous avertira des circonstances exceptionnelles.

Vous pouvez obtenir les prévisions météorologiques du ministère de l’Environnement du Canada sur la fréquence météo de votre radio VHF. Elles sont aussi présentées sur les stations de radio locales le long de la voie navigable.

Contrairement à d’autres voies maritimes, le niveau des eaux de la rivière des Outaouais change continuellement, car le système de contrôle de la rivière et du lac draine une grande zone. Au printemps et après des précipitations abondantes, le niveau des eaux monte beaucoup, ce qui déloge des morceaux de bois et des débris provenant du littoral. En plus des variations du niveau causées par les saisons ou la météo, d’autres changements peuvent se produire à l’intérieur de quelques heures, à cause des centrales hydroélectriques situées sur la voie navigable. Une grande quantité d’eau circule dans les centrales durant les périodes de consommation de pointe, ce qui fait baisser le niveau en haut des barrages et le fait monter en bas des barrages. Nous vous conseillons de naviguer lentement dans les eaux peu profondes et lorsque vous contournez les obstacles. Si vous décidez d’amarrer votre bateau près d’une plage pour la nuit ou pour la journée, soyez conscients qu’une baisse du niveau des eaux pourrait faire échouer votre embarcation pendant plusieurs heures.

Il se peut que vous affrontiez des courants forts et de la turbulence à différents endroits sur la voie navigable où la rivière rétrécit. Ces zones se trouvent sur la partie basse de la rivière mais elles peuvent toutes être franchies en augmentant la force du moteur afin de mieux manœuvrer le bateau.

Pour obtenir de l’information sur le niveau de l’eau, consultez le tableau de régularisation du site Internet de la rivière des Outaouais www.ottawariver.ca ou contactez le 1 800 778-1246.


Communications

Sachez que le service de communication est limité sur l’eau. Ainsi, votre radio VHF et votre téléphone cellulaire ne fonctionneront pas toujours. La Voie navigable de la rivière des Outaouais ne fait pas partie du service de la radio marine de la Garde Côtière canadienne. Cependant, le personnel des marinas et les autres plaisanciers sont à l’écoute des canaux 16 et 68.

Service d'urgence

La plupart des régions de la rivière des Outaouais ont le service 911.

Cartes de navigation

Il est fortement recommandé d'utiliser les cartes marines lors de toutes les excursions sur la Voie navigable de la rivière des Outaouais. Les cartes suivantes couvrent les différents secteurs de la voie navigable.

Carte de navigation

Section de la rivière

1510

Lac des Deux-Montagnes

1514

Carillon à Papineauville

1515

Papineauville à Ottawa

1550

Baie Britannia à Chats Falls

1551

Chat’s Fall à Chenaux (Portage-du-Fort)

1552

Portage-du-Fort à Île Fraser (to Pembroke)

1553

Île Fraser (Pembroke) à Rapides-des-Joachims

1554

Rapides-des-Joachims à Lake La Cave (Mattawa)

1555

Lac La Cave (Mattawa) à Témiscamingue

1556

Lac Témiscamingue